Current Group Members

Group Leader

Professor Spas D. Kolev

Research Staff

Dr M. Inês G. S. Almeida
Dr Yanlin Zhang

Honorary Staff

Professor Robert W. Cattrall (Honorary Professorial Fellow)
Associate Professor Ian D. McKelvie (Honorary Principal Fellow)
Associate Professor Richard J. S. Morrison (Honorary Principal Fellow)
Robert Western

PhD Students

 

Lenka O’Connor Sraj


Joined: 2013
Project: Development of novel devices for monitoring ammonia pollution in marine environments
Contact: l.sraj@student.unimelb.edu.au

Bosirul Hoque


Joined: November 2015
Project: Development of polymer inclusion membranes (PIMs) incorporating cross-linking polymers for faster extraction and longer stability
Contact: bhoque@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location: Building 154, Level 2, Room 207

Fidelis Nitti

Joined: May 2016
Project: Development of smart passive sampling device for monitoring of heavy metal pollutants in aquatic systems
Contact: fnitti@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location: Building 154, Level 2, Room 211

Charles Croft


Joined: August 2015
Project: The development and characterisation of micro polymer inclusion beads (µPIBs) and their application to flow analysis systems
Contact: ccroft@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location:Building 154, Level 2, Room 210

Neda Nematollahi


Joined: March 2016
Project: Analysis of volatile organic compound emissions from fragranced consumer products
Contact: nnematollahi@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location:

Natalie Uhlikova


Joined: February 2019
Project: Development of µPADs for detection of total inorganic nitrogen in water and soil samples
Contact: nuhlikova@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location: Building 154, Level 2, Room 210

 

MSc Students

Madeline King


Joined: July 2017
Project: The application of micro polymer inclusion beads (µPIBs) containing LIX84I for the selective extraction of Cu(II)
Contact: madelinek@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location: Building 154, Level 2, Room 211

Nan Wu


Joined: July 2017
Project: Preparation of very thin polymer inclusion membranes (PIMs) and their application to the clean-up of thiocyanate from polluted waters
Contact: nwu3@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location: Building 154, Level 2, Room 211

Shuzhi (Johnson) Zhao


Joined: February 2018
Project: Extraction of cobalt thiocyanate using copolymer based PIMs
Contact: shuzhiz@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location: Building 154, Level 2, Room 210

QiuYu Wang


Joined: July 2018
Project: Microfluid fabrication of polymer hollow fibre membrane and its application to the removal of thiocyanate from water
Contact: qiuwang@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location: Building 154, Level 2, Room 211

Honours Students

Menuha Rafael


Joined: July 2018
Project: Synthesis of polymer microbead supported palladium nanoparticles for catalytic cross-coupling reactions
Contact: mrafael@student.unimelb.edu.au
Location: Building 154, Level 2, Room 211

Current Visiting Academic Staff and Research Students

Alyia Tierney

Alyia is a student at Deakin University, Geelong, and she became involved with the Kolev group in August 2018.

Project: Targeted monitoring of opiate process streams and elucidation of new products

 

 

 

Wataru Yoshida (Kyushu University, Japan)

Wataru joined the group in February 2019.

Project: Preparation of bilayer polymer inclusion membrane and its application